Wyoming Love: Pinterest Fail or Success?

 

As move in day is quickly approaching, there are a lot of things to think about. First and foremost – “How do I make this tiny apartment a home?” On a college budget, shopping for wall art can cost a small fortune and sometimes it can’t always be guaranteed that stores will have just the right piece of art to compliment the furniture in your apartment. Why not drastically cut the price and know you’re getting what you want by painting your own wall art? It may seem somewhat intimidating, but speaking from experience, I am by no means a master at free handing art but I was able to accomplish painting a new canvas for my apartment with the aid of a Microsoft Word template.  While surfing around on Pinterest I found this wall hanging: 
Image

As you can see in the picture, it was made with worn wood, stain, paint, and sanding. This particular piece of art can be purchased on Etsy.com for roughly $35.00 – ouch. While the wood gives this particular wall hanging a more ‘western feel’ trying to do this in a tiny apartment would be difficult and could violate the lease agreement; which could snowball into more money and no one wants that. I fell in love with the idea but wanted to switch it up a bit. I went to Wal-Mart a few days ago to see about how much my creative impulse would cost me. After price comparing, I was able to get an acrylic paint set with twelve colors, three brushes, a pencil, and three 8” x 10” canvases for only $11.00. I decided to go for it, and take a step outside of my comfort zone – and it felt great! I made a template on Microsoft word to trace. Unfortunately I couldn’t find as western of a font as I wanted, so I went to one of the simplest fonts I could find. After sizing, cutting, and tracing I began painting.

Image

The painting process only took me a total of two hours and voila! I now have something to dress up my living room walls that didn’t break the bank and found a new hobby. Canvas painting can also serve as a homemade inexpensive gift created with love for upcoming events and holidays to give to loved ones! I call this a definite Pinterest win!

Channing Wills

Bison Run ALA

 

 

