Zucchini Bread

My last trip home my mom give me a ton of fresh vegetables from the garden. My mom is use to feeding six mouths. Needless to say she give me way too much fresh vegetables for this single college gal. I called my mom and asked what I should I do with all this food. Make zucchini bread of course, and save some in the freezer.
This recipe comes my mother.
 Bonnie Smith’s kitchen
Ingredients
– 3 cups of flour  ( if you need gluten free, use soy flour)
– 3 teaspoons of cinnamon
– 1 teaspoon of baking powder
– 1 teaspoon of baking soda
– 1 teaspoon of salt
– 2 cups of shredded fresh zucchini
– 3/4 cup of vegetable oil
– 2 cups of sugar (can sub in applesauce)
– 3 teaspoons of vanilla extract
– 3 eggs
– if you want to add bananas (2 mashed), or chocolate chips (half cup)
1. Preheat your oven to 300 degrees.
2. Grease your bread pan. This recipe will make two 8×4 bread pans. I used a bigger one for my pictures because I made 6 loafs.
3. Mix the flour, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together and swift.
4. In a bigger bowl where you will have all of your ingredients together  beet your 3 eggs. Mix in your vegetable oil, sugar, vanilla, and zucchini.
5. In the bigger bowl go ahead and add your dry ingredients in. Mix together. If you would like to add banana or chocolate chips it gives it a different favor if you are making a few loafs. My personal favorite is when you add banana in. It’s delicious.
6. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes. To see if the bread if done try the toothpick test. Stick a toothpick in the center of your loaf. If it comes out clean the loaf is ready to come out of the oven. If the toothpick comes out dirty the bread needs more time in the oven.
Emily LaRae Smith
Spanish Walk ALA
  pic 1pic 3pic 2pic 4
