Homemade Slow Cooker Potato Soup

Homemade Slow Cooker Potato Soup From http://southernfood.about.com/od/crockpotsoup/r/bl55c5.htm

Homemade Potato Soup , Slow Cooker This great tasting potato soup is easy to prepare and cook in the slow cooker. It’s made with potatoes, celery, carrots, chicken broth, milk and parsley. Read more…

The first snow has fallen and its time to break out that crock-pot and take full advantage of it. I have made my own changes to this recipe. I like the base of this recipe but decided to change a few things to fit on own liking.

* 8 potatoes, peeled and cubed into bite size

* 1/2 of a lg. onion, chopped

* 5 stalks celery, sliced, including leaves

* 4 tbsp. of chicken bouillon

* 1 tbsp. parsley flakes

* 5 cups water

* 1 to 2 teaspoons salt, or to taste

* Pepper, to taste

* 3 tablespoons butter

* 1 (12 oz.) can evaporated milk

The original recipe called for carrots but I don’t really care for carrots in soup. If you liked a certain vegetable it could easily be added. I also added more celery because I needed to get rid of it. With the chicken bouillon i only had powder so I adjusted it according. I also cut out some of the butter so it wasn’t so heavy on the butter.

When I served it I also added some shredded Mexican cheese to add a cheesy favor. Overall it is a delicious crock-pot soup that was nice to come home to the first snowy day on campus. After a long day on campus it was nice to come home to an apartment that smelt delicious and ready to eat.

Emily LaRae Smith Spanish Walk ALA

